Q & A Jeweller Vivien Walsh

June 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

Jeweller extraordinaire Vivien Walsh has just opened her new shop in Monkstown. dublinzine posed the questions and here are Vivien’s replies.

Q. You set up your jewellery business in the ’80s. Has it been difficult to maintain it through ups and downs of recessions etc?
I am very lucky to have a very loyal following which I have built up since I launched my collection during the 1980s.
Yes, business can be difficult during recessionary times ….. but being a small concern means that I can be very flexible. This has been a key ingredient to maintaining sales and growing my client base.
Q. What inspires you to create pieces?
I get my inspiration from all around me, nature,art, architecture,fashion … I love to travel and am constantly jotting down ideas that pop into my head. My camera is a valuable tool and is never very far away !
Q. What are your fave metals/stones to work with?
Recently I have been working with semi precious stones such as amazonite, jasper, prenhite and coloured agates.I love the earthiness of them. Of course I still use Swarovski crystals and pearls of all descriptions for evening wear and bridal collections.
Q. Are you pleased with your shop now and how has it been going?
I just love my new shop ! …. and I have been quite busy …. lots of my clients live out this way and it has bee great catching up !
Q. Have you any famous customers that wear your jewellery?
Yes ! ….. but I can’t tell ! ….
Q. Advice for budding jewellers or creative/crafts people in setting up on their own?
Be prepared to work hard ….. and listen to the market.

§ One Response to Q & A Jeweller Vivien Walsh

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Q & A Jeweller Vivien Walsh at dublinzine.

meta

