Interview: Patrick Combs-Man1 Bank0

April 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

When Patrick Combs lodged a fake check  (that he had received as a promotional scam) for $95,000 into his bank,  he didnt get quite the response he thought he would.  In fact, to prove that some people who work in banks are asses, the check cleared and Patrick found that he was in the money!  He tells about this fascinating story in a one man hilarious show, Man 1 Bank 0, (HBO Comedy Festival,  Montreal Comedy Festival, New Zealand International Comedy Festival ) which comes to Dublin in June.  I emailed him some quick questions to probe a bit deeper…

Q. What inspired you to lodge the €95, 000 fake check into your account?

The thought that it would make a banker laugh of course. It was like putting Monopoly money in.

Q. What did you do when you realised it had been cashed? How did you react?

I ran all the way home from my bank – even though I had driven there. Completely forgot about my car.

Q. What did you do about the money? You didn’t/wouldn’t give it back?

At first I obsessed on it, like an addict. Couldn’t stop calling for my bank account balance. It became my habit, 24/7.

Q Was the person who cashed the check fired?

No she was not.

Q. Would you do it again?

Give me the same check, the same bank and an ATM card, and I’ll show you my answer.

Q. How are audiences reacting to the shows?

Standing ovations thus far. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Oh, and everyone who’s got a banking error story is telling me their tale.

Patrick Combs smash hit one man show “Man 1, Bank 0” tours Ireland this June to 18 venues nationwide – for Further Information, tour dates & venues log onto :: www.man1bank0.com 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interview: Patrick Combs-Man1 Bank0 at dublinzine.

meta

