I also kept my eyes open for 127 Hours

January 9, 2011 § 1 Comment

127 Hours-starring James Franco, directed by Danny Boyle, at cinemas in Ireland now.

Im claiming a t-shirt off Grandma Franco, (the I Kept My Eyes Open For 127 Hours one) because I have to report I too sat through 127 Hours and not once hid behind my wooly winter scarf, closed my eyes or put my hands over my eyes. To my surprise, I might add.

I have to admit I was far from certain at the beginning if I would survive it, as I got a bit claustrophobic at the opening scenes, but from then on I was fine. The amputation scene (everyone knows the story) where Franco/Ralston cuts off his arm is kind of slipped into the story and it helps that by the time they get to it you feel so bad for the guy that watching him break and cut off the arm is a welcome relief (for him & the tension-filled cinema audience)

James Franco is tremendous, open-hearted & dedicated- the music is great (Bill Withers, Plastic Bertrand, an Edith Piaf song) & it’s a life-affirming piece of film-making, well worth the wait for European cinema-goers and a good start to the New Year!

Grandma Franco (with James Franco) in an Xmas message on Funny Or Die,  tells viewers who are afraid to see 127 Hours they are pussies.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to I also kept my eyes open for 127 Hours

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I also kept my eyes open for 127 Hours at dublinzine.

meta

